High School Core State Standards of Utah: Curriculum Units & Resources

Welcome to the High School Page!

Flickr.com Photo: High School Students

While this page is still a work-in-progress, there are several helpful resources and links for teachers’ use in implementing the Core State Standards. Here’s a short description of each:

  • Core State Standards with “I Can” Statements for Grades 7 – 12: Lists reading, writing, speaking & listening, and language standards with associated “I Can” statements in order from seventh to twelfth grades. 
  • High School Units At-a-Glance: Teachers can see where each standard is covered throughout the school year as illustrated by these spreadsheets grade by grade or 10th through 12th.
  • Grades 10, 11, and 12 Units: Each unit plan features “focus standards” – specific standards to emphasize, along with associated “I Can” statements.  This does not mean other standards and objectives may not be addressed during the course of that unit’s instruction.
  • Optional topics/motifs to use with units: Because learning is enhanced when taught within a context, these pages provide topics, enduring understanding statements, essential questions and resources that can serve as frameworks for the units. (Go to HOMEPAGE to read rationale.)

JSD High School 10th-12th Units At-a-Glance


10th Grade At-a-Glance

Optional Topics/Motifs to Use with 10th Grade Units:


11th Grade At-a-Glance

Optional Topics and Motifs to Use with 11th Grade Units

Note: These topics are chronologically arranged and correlate with most 11th grade anthologies and U.S. history textbooks.


12th Grade At-a-Glance

Optional Topics/Motifs to Use with 12th Grade Units

* Note: Resources for starred motifs are more complete. Additional helps are in the process of being added.