Middle School Core State Standards of Utah Curriculum Units & Resources

Welcome to the Middle School Page!

Flickr.com Photo: Middle Schoolers

While this page is still a work-in-progress, there are several helpful resources and links for teachers’ use in implementing the Core State Standards. Here’s a short description of each:

  • Core State Standards with “I Can” Statements for Grades 7 – 12: Lists reading, writing, speaking & listening, and language standards with associated “I Can” statements in order from seventh to twelfth grades. 
  • Middle School Units At-a-Glance by Strand & UNIT and by Strand & STANDARD : Teachers can see where each standard is covered throughout the school year as illustrated by these spreadsheets, grades 7th through 9th.
  • Grades 7, 8, and 9 Thematic Units: Each unit plan features “focus standards” – specific standards to be emphasized and associated “I Can” statements.  Enduring understanding statements and essential questions are also included.
  • Unit Resource Pages: Because learning is enhanced when taught within a context, these pages provide resources that can support topical frameworks for the units. (Go to HOMEPAGE to read rationale.)

Units At-A-Glance by Strand and Unit

Units At-A-Glance by Strand and Standard

7th Grade JSD Curriculum Units

7th Grade Resources

8th Grade JSD Curriculum Maps Units

8th Grade Resources

9th Grade JSD Curriculum Units

9th Grade Resources